Council Members

The Borough of Watsontown exists under the Pennsylvania Borough Code which is a statute adopted by the Pennsylvania General Assembly as the basic law governing boroughs.

The Borough of  Watsontown is governed by the Council-Manager form of government. There are six Council Members and a Mayor who are elected by the voters. The Chief Administrative Officer is the Borough Manager who is appointed by Council and is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the Borough.

The Borough Council

The Borough Council is the governing body. The six members of Council are elected by ward for 4-year terms. Council holds regular monthly meetings. Council is responsible for levying taxes, enacting ordinances and resolutions, establishing policies, providing services, and promoting the health, safety, and welfare of the borough residents.

  • Greg Miller – President (Ward 2)
  • Dan Folk – Vice President (Ward 2)
  • Roy Smedley (Ward 1)
  • Fred Merrill (Ward 1)
  • Thomas Hetherington (Ward 2)
  • Todd Moyer (Ward 1)

Borough Council meets on the 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00 pm in the Borough Building, unless otherwise noted.  The public is invited to attend Council meetings.  If you would like to be put on the meeting agenda to address the Council, please contact the Borough Office.

Borough Committees meet on the 4th Monday of each month at 7:00 pm in Council Chambers at the Borough Building, unless otherwise noted.  The public is invited to attend Committee Workshops.

Pictured in Photo Council – left to right front to back

Councilman Thomas Hetherington

Mayor Russell McClintock

Councilman Todd Moyer

Councilman Fred Merrill

President Greg Miller

Vice President Dan Folk

Councilman Roy Smedley


This photo was taken and provided by The Standard-Journal.

The Mayor

The Mayor is also an elected position with a term of 4 years. Although not a member of the Borough Council, the Mayor may attend all Council meetings and take part in the discussions. The Mayor may cast the deciding vote when a tie occurs and may approve or veto every ordinance or resolution of legislative nature passed by Council. If the Mayor vetoes an ordinance or resolution, Council may override it with a two-thirds vote.

  • Russ McClintock, Mayor

Mayor, Russell McClintock